The EU has added Putin and Lavrov to its sanctions list in response to the invasion of Ukraine.

BRUSSELS: The EU sanctioned Russian President Vladimir Putin and Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov on Friday in response to Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine, according to the EU’s foreign policy leader, Josep Borrell.

The action was agreed upon during a meeting of EU foreign ministers in Brussels to formally adopt a wide package of sanctions against Russia that Borrell has described as the “harshest” ever drafted by the union.

The package, accepted by EU leaders at an overnight session, will punish Russia’s banking, energy, and transportation sectors, as well as limit Russians’ ability to hold substantial sums of cash in EU banks.

It also increases the number of Russians on the EU’s list of sanctioned people who are forbidden from entering the bloc’s 27 member states and have their EU assets frozen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *